What days are the Texas
Secretary of State closed?


The Texas Secretary of State in Austin, TX is closed on all Texas and federal government holidays and as such, our company won’t be able to rush file your legal documents until they reopen.

Also, the Secretary of State closes without notice early sometimes (half days), and for emergencies. They closed down for 3 1/2 days because of the 2020 downtown mass riots and looting, 12 days (8 business days) because of COVID in March 2020, and 10 days (6 business days) because of the Texas grid down/snowstorm in February 2021.

The TXSOS is closed on all of these dates in 2022.

Martin Luther King Jr. Day – Mon, Jan 17, 2022
Confederate Memorial Day – Wed, Jan 19, 2022
Washington’s Birthday – Mon, Feb 21, 2022
Texas Independence Day – Wed, Mar 2, 2022
Cesar Chavez Day – Thu, Mar 31, 2022
Good Friday – Fri, Apr 15, 2022
San Jacinto Day – Thu, Apr 21, 2022
Memorial Day – Mon, May 30, 2022
Juneteenth – Sun, Jun 19, 2022
Independence Day – Mon, Jul 4, 2022
Labor Day – Mon, Sep 5, 2022
Veterans Day – Fri, Nov 11, 2022
Thanksgiving – Thu, Nov 24, 2022
Black Friday – Fri, Nov 25, 2022 (not a federal/state holiday but they’re closed on that day)
Christmas Day Mon, Dec 26, 2022

Was This FAQ Helpful?

1 out of 1 found this helpful


Still got a question or concern?

Click here to contact us or go back to the main FAQ page.